Hello Denver!

I have been the Chief of the Denver Police Department for the past year and a half.  That time has been marked by rapid change designed to create a police department focused on crime prevention and community policing. While I am pleased with the progress we’ve made to date, there are more changes to come.

However, one thing will not change.  Every decision I make will be weighed against what is in the best interest of the community and the department, and equally important – what is the right thing to do.  I will also remain focused on crime prevention and training police employees to treat everyone with respect.

As I consider how important the relationship between police and the community is, I realize I want to increase my communication with you – the people of Denver.  I routinely attend community meetings, public events, speak with the media, and interact with many community members on the street.  But in reality, there are a great many of you I have not had the chance to meet or interact with.  I intend to change that.

To that end, one of the Police Department’s focus’ is communications.  My staff and I will seek every opportunity to increase communications – and not just from us to you, but from you to us.  We want to know your thoughts about how we are doing, where can we improve, and how we can better serve you?

To begin the conversation, I will post a weekly blog on this site about what we are doing in the Police Department and why.  I will share the good work the department is doing and provide up-to-date information on changes in the department.

I sincerely hope you will join the discussion!  The best way to do this is by responding to this post or through one of our social media platforms (Facebook.com/denverpolice; Twitter.com/denverpolice; Pinterest.com/denverpolice; or Youtube.com/denverpolice).

I appreciate the opportunity to serve as your Chief of Police and look forward to working more closely with you.

Robert C. White

Chief of Police

Chief White in the Community

This entry was posted in From the Chief. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. Ritamarie says:

    Very cool!

  2. jkdurden says:

    Welcome to the blogging world Chief White. It is nice to see you reaching out and keeping us informed.

    I look forward to reading along and commenting on occasion.

    JD
    District 2

Leave a Reply

